Rustici Research Archive

2014 Funded Research

Advancing Tools for Controlling Medusahead

Josh Davy, CE Advisor, UC Cooperative Extension

jsdavy@ucanr.edu

Development of Grazing, Integrated, and Organic Management Strategies for Noxious Thistles in Northern California Coastal Regions

Joseph DiTomaso, Professor and CE Specialist, UCD Plant Sciences Department

jmditomasso@ucdavis.edu

Range and Pasture Plant Field Identification Guide

Larry Forero, CE Advisor, UC Cooperative Extension

lcforero@ucanr.edu

Understanding the Impact of Neurologic Disease in Cattle Caused by Bovine Astrovirus (BovAstV-NeuroS1)

Patricia Pesavento, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

papesavento@ucdavis.edu

Beef Cattle Welfare: Assurance and Benchmarking

Cassandra Tucker, UC Davis Department of Animal Science

cbtucker@ucdavis.edu

Whole Genome Sequencing of BRD-relevant Bacterial Isolates

Alison Van Eenennaam, CE Specialist, UCD Animal Science Department

alvaneenennaam@ucdavis.edu

2013 Funded Research

Evaluating the Variation in the Intake of Loose Salt Mineral Mixes Using Selenium as a Marker for Consumption by Pasture Cattle

Josh Davy, CE Advisor, UC Cooperative Extension

jsdavy@ucanr.edu

Extending Knowledge: Using Producer-Researcher Learning Teams to Design Economically Viable, Ranch-Specific Approaches

Jeremy James, SFREC Director, UC ANR

jjjames@ucanr.edu

Developing and Validating Methods for Accurately Measuring the Shedding of Escherichia coli (O157:H7) by Rangeland Cattle

Xunde Li, Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

xdli@ucdavis.edu

Epizootic Bovine Abortion (EBA): Vaccines for Today and Tomorrow

Jeffrey Stott, Professor and Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

jlstott@ucdavis.edu

Prescribed Grazing to Enhance Ranch Profit and Rangeland Ecosystem Services

Kenneth Tate, CE Specialist, UCD Department of Plant Sciences

kwtate@ucdavis.edu

Genomic Interrogation of the Putative Etiological Agent of Foothill Abortion (EBA)

Alison Van Eenennaam, CE Specialist, UCD Animal Science Department

alvaneenennaam@ucdavis.edu

2012 Funded Research

Statewide Coordination of a Science-Based Response to Waterborne Pathogen Concerns of Beef Cattle on California Rangelands

Robert Atwill, Professor and Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

ratwill@ucdavis.edu

Evaluation and Validation of Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) Assay to Detect Tritrichomonas Foetus

Kristen Clothier, Professor and Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

kaclothier@ucdavis.edu

New Producer-Friendly Tool to Diagnose BRD Virus Infections

Beate Crossley, Professor and Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

bcrossley@ucdavis.edu

Tools for Controlling Medusa Head

Josh Davy, CE Advisor, UC Cooperative Extension

jsdavy@ucanr.edu

Effects of Road Transport on Physiological Stress Indices and Pathogen Shedding in Adult Beef Cows

Xunde Li, Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

xdli@ucdavis.edu

Coordinated Electronic Extension of Information to Cattlemen

Glenn Nader, CE Advisor, UC Cooperative Extension

ganader@ucdavis.edu

Development and Testing of a Recombinant Heat Shock Protein (HSP) Vaccine for Epizootic Bovine Abortion (EBA)

Jeffrey Stott, Professor and Researcher, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

jlstott@ucdavis.edu

Beef Cattle Welfare: Assessment of Pain Relief and Healing After Hot Iron Branding and Castration

Cassandra Tucker, Professor and Researcher, UCD Department of Animal Science

cbtucker@ucdavis.edu